The state of Connecticut is currently accepting applications for new medical dispensaries, however applications are due 4/9 and there is no longer enough time to apply.
Recreational marijuana legalization is gaining momentum — More info on pending legislation (HB5458).
• Initial application fee: $1,000 (non-refundable)
• Registration fee: $5,000 (non-refundable)
• Renewal fee: $5,000 (non-refundable)
Cultivator licenses are not currently available. In the past, fees have been:
• Initial application fee: $25,000 (non-refundable)
• Registration fee: $75,000 (non-refundable)
• Renewal fee: $75,000 (non-refundable)
In addition, marijuana is subject to Connecticut sales tax. The state has implemented a tax stamp system as proof of payment at the following rates:
• $3.50 per gram (or portion thereof) of marijuana,
• $200.00 per gram (or portion thereof) of a controlled substance that is sold by weight, and
• $2,000.00 per each 50 dosage units (or portion thereof) of a controlled substance that is not sold by weight.
A patient may only register for a medical marijuana certificate if he or she is a Connecticut resident being treated for a debilitating medical condition by a Connecticut-licensed physician.
For Adults, Debilitating Medical Conditions Include:
For Patients Under 18, Debilitating Medical Conditions Include:
Qualifications for a Registration Certificate:
January 2016: Connecticut awards licenses to three new medical marijuana dispensary facilities
• September 2015: Second license application period closes for medical marijuana dispensaries in Connecticut
• September 2014: Medical marijuana available for sale to patients
• April 2014: Dispensaries licenses awarded
• February 2014: Producer licenses awarded
• November 2013: Application close
• September 2013: Initial license application for medical marijuana dispensaries and producers in Connecticut
• May 31, 2012: Act Concerning the Palliative Use of Marijuana passes
Public Act 12-55, An Act Concerning the Palliative Use of Marijuana, signed into law on May 31, 2012. The Act recognized a limited number of qualifying conditions, but did not include chronic pain. Connecticut also requires that only licensed pharmacists may operate dispensaries, and that they must have training on proper handling of controlled substances and past experience counseling patients with regard to medication use and drug interactions.
By the time the state awarded dispensary licenses in April 2014, Connecticut was home to 1,990 registered patients, higher than anticipated. The Department of Consumer Affairs chose to award licenses to six of the 27 dispensary applicants, rather than the five intended. Connecticut also licensed four medical marijuana cultivators, rather than three, from a pool of 16 applicants.
By the time the second license application period closed in September 2015, 5,357 patients had officially registered, increasing to 8,201 when winners were announced in January 2016.